Evanko wins president; 769 voters in election

Tyler McNulty , News Editor

At a March 28 student government meeting, Treasurer Joe Evanko won the most votes to be 2017-2018 student government president.

Evanko, with his running mate Sen. Brady Willis, received 310 votes.

A team that included Senators John Kopsick and Gretchen Shepard received 244 votes. Parliamentarian Sam Miller and Sen.  Sarah Francowic received 215 votes.

The 769 voting students are 27 percent of eligible students.

Evanko said this year’s election was competitive.

“The result was great, getting more people out to vote than in any other election recently,” he said.

Evanko and Willis got 11 percent of eligible votes.

Evanko and Willis were to be sworn in at Tuesday’s student government meeting, so Evanko is to be president the following week when the new senators are sworn in.

Evanko said he is looking forward to next year.

“I’m excited to see what I can do for the campus next year.

“I can’t wait to start  working with all the new senators and get everyone up to speed, so we can start right away,” Evanko said.